Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Crowley Named Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist

Crowley Named Naismith Coach of the Year Finalist

Complete Release

St. Bonaventure's Jim Crowley was one of just four finalists named by Atlanta Tipoff Club members for the Naismith Women's College Coach of the Year on Friday, joining Stanford's Tara VanDerveer, Baylor's Kim Mulkey and Notre Dame's Muffet McGraw.

Crowley, who has already won Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year and National Coach of the Year honors, has led the Bonnies to a program-record 29 wins against just three losses. Bonaventure, despite losing in the A-10 Championship final, earned a berth in its first NCAA Tournament as a No. 5 seed and will face 12th-seeded Florida Gulf Coast in Tallahassee, Fla. on Sunday at 2:30 p.m. (approximately). The game can be seen on ESPN2.

A southern New York native, Crowley has guided SBU to four straight seasons of 20+ wins and postseason berths as it has qualified for the Women's National Invitation Tournament each of the previous three years.

The finalists were determined by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's National Voting Academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The academy based its criteria on coaching performances this season.

The Naismith Award is one of the most prestigious national awards presented annually to the women's college basketball coach of the year. The winner will be announced in early April.