Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Bonnies Freshmen Strong Again; Bona's Takes Second at Watts Invite

Bonnies Freshmen Strong Again; Bona's Takes Second at Watts Invite

Full results

EDINBORO, Pa. – The St. Bonaventure men's cross country team claimed another second-place finish, taking the runner-up spot in a six-team field Saturday morning at the Doug Watts Invitational.

Host Edinboro showed the way on its home course with 15 team points while St. Bonaventure took second with 67 points. Slippery Rock (84), Gannon (105), Mercyhurst (118) and Lake Erie (162) rounded out the field.

Edinboro runners took the top seven spots in the individual finishing order with St. Bonaventure freshman Clay Peets crossing the finish line in eighth out of 71 competitors. The reigning Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Week ran the fifth-fastest individual 8K time in program history with his effort of 26:16, just a week after running the second-fastest 5K mark in Bonnies history.

Fellow freshman Zach Buckner also wrote his name in the program record books for the second consecutive week. He finished 10th in the field and his time of 26:25 now stands seventh in program history. A week ago in the Little Three Championship, he posted the fourth-fastest individual 5K by any Bonnies runner.

Fifth-year senior Nathan Prisella was the veteran leader for the Bonnies Saturday, placing third on the team and 14th overall by crossing the stripe in 26:53. Junior Darion Gregory was the only other upperclassman in the team scoring, registering a time of 27:08 which was good for 19th.

Sophomore Zane Courtwright rounded out the team's top-five with a mark of 27:16 while freshman Colin McCarthy (27:41) and sophomore Kieran Ryan (27:55) completed the Bona's top seven.

The Bonnies return to action at the Harry Anderson Invitational in Rochester in two weeks.

8. Clay Peets – 26:16
10. Zach Buckner – 26:25
14. Nathan Prisella – 26:53
19. Darion Gregory – 27:08
23. Zane Courtwright – 27:16
26. Colin McCarthy – 27:41
30. Kieran Ryan – 27:55
32. John Pullano – 28:05
37. Patrick Stevens – 28:16
39. Wyatt Hulsey – 28:21
40. Jared Deno – 28:26
41. Thomas Dachik – 28:28
47. Brian Gleason – 28:59
57. James Fitzmaurice – 29:17
58. Elias Kott – 29:25
60. Ryan Lewis – 29:27
64. Conor Quinn – 29:57

For the latest news on St. Bonaventure athletics, stay connected on social media. Follow the Bonnies on Twitter @GoBonnies and get cross country and track updates @BonniesXCTrack. Keep up with the Bonnies on Facebook /GoBonnies and on Instagram @GoBonnies.